The Complete Singles Collection on 2-LP Green Vinyl is coming out for Record Store Day Black Friday!

With the debut of their first hit, “California Dreamin’,” on the charts, The Mamas and the Papas proclaimed themselves to be a potent new force in the burgeoning West Coast folk-rock movement, announcing to the world that something special and beautiful was happening in California. Real Gone Music celebrates the group’s very special legacy by releasing The Mamas and the Papas: The Complete Singles, a two-LP, 31-track set that includes for the first time ever the A and B side of every single the group released, all in their impossible-to-find mono single mixes. Remastered by Aaron Kannowski, the engineer responsible for Real Gone’s acclaimed collections of singles by fellow Dunhill label acts The Grass Roots and Steppenwolf, the set includes notes by Co-Producer Ed Osborne that feature quotes drawn from extended interviews with Mama Michelle Phillips and Dunhill label head and producer Lou Adler, while the package also includes a number of rarely-seen images of this eminently photographable band. Many of the single mixes haven’t been available on vinyl since their original release; over the course of listening to this set you’re going to hear such legendary songs as “Monday, Monday,” “California Dreamin’,” “Creeque Alley,” “I Saw Her Again,” “Words of Love,” “Dream a Little Dream of Me,” “Glad to Be Unhappy,” “Dedicated to the One I Love,” and “It’s Getting Better” exactly as folks heard them over the radio back in those halcyon days. Due to the unfortunate situation with the Dunhill single master tape reels (supposedly thrown out at the behest of one of the label’s owners), Mamas and Papas fans had despaired of ever hearing the group’s original singles on LP. Now, after countless hours spent tracking down sources, Real Gone Music is proud to release the most significant vinyl addition to The Mamas and the Papas discography in years!

Tracklisting includes:

  1. Go Where You Wanna Go
  2. Somebody Groovy
  3. California Dreamin’
  4. Monday, Monday
  5. Got a Feelin’
  6. I Saw Her Again
  7. Even If I Could
  8. Look Through My Window
  9. Once Was a Time I Thought
  10. Words of Love
  11. Dancing in the Street
  12. Dedicated to the One I Love
  13. Free Advice
  14. Creeque Alley
  15. Did You Ever Want to Cry
  16. Twelve Thirty (Young Girls Are Coming)
  17. Straight Shooter
  18. Glad to Be Unhappy
  19. Hey Girl
  20. Dancing Bear
  21. John’s Music Box
  22. Safe in My Garden
  23. Too Late
  24. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  25. Midnight Voyage
  26. For the Love of Ivy
  27. Strange Young Girls
  28. Do You Wanna Dance
  29. My Girl
  30. Step Out
  31. Shooting Star